AirAsia further expands Johor Bahru hub with two new cities


SEPANG, 18 July 2018 - We are expanding our domestic network from Johor Bahru with two new destinations, Alor Setar and Ipoh, from 1 October 2018.

AirAsia Malaysia (carried code AK) will fly four times a week from Johor Bahru to both destinations, the 10th and 11th domestic routes departing from Senai International Airport. Johor Bahru-Ipoh also marks our first service to the capital city of Perak.

AirAsia Malaysia Head of Commercial Spencer Lee said, “We are pleased to announce these two new routes from Johor Bahru. This expansion not only boosts connectivity between southern and northern peninsular Malaysia but is also an opportunity to strengthen the state economies of Johor, Kedah and Perak through increased tourism. We are particularly thrilled to start flying to Ipoh and look forward to painting the city red come October.”

AirAsia Malaysia now flies to 16 destinations from Johor Bahru - Bangkok, Jakarta, Surabaya, Ho Chi Minh City, Guangzhou, Kuala Lumpur, Penang, Langkawi, Kuala Terengganu, Kuching, Miri, Sibu, Kota Kinabalu, Tawau, Alor Setar and Ipoh.

To celebrate the new routes, we are offering promotional all-in-fares from RM69* one-way from Johor Bahru to Alor Setar and from RM59* one-way from Johor Bahru to Ipoh, available for booking now until 29 July 2018 for travel between 1 October 2018 and 13 August 2019 on and the AirAsia mobile app.

For latest updates, please follow AirAsia on Twitter ( and Facebook (

Flight Schedule for Johor Bahru (JHB) – Alor Setar (AOR):


Flight Schedule for Johor Bahru (JHB) – Ipoh (IPH):


*Promotional all-in-fares quoted are for one-way travel only inclusive of taxes and fees. Terms and conditions apply.